I’ve recently moved to Queensland and the state elections will be held soon.

I’m interested in politics and want to learn of the candidates running in my new home electorate. I live about 10kms from Brisbane city in Camp Hill. Camp Hill is in the electorate of Greenslopes.

I’ve been searching and so far this is what I’ve found:

The current member is Cameron Dick, a Queensland Labor Party representative. He has an impressive record.

He was elected for the first time in 2009 and was offered the Attorney General and Industrial Relations portfolios – a rarity for first time elected MPs. He has lived most of his life in the electorate but he has also spent time overseas working in Tuvalu and studying at Cambridge. Just from my small amount of research he could be someone to watch.

Ian Kaye is a member of the Liberal National Party (LNP). The LNP is a newly established political party where the Qld Liberals and National Party merged.

According to my research, Ian Kaye has been in the Police force for 23 years and is very active in community groups.  Ian says:

“I believe in communication and open door policies to deal with the grass roots issues.  I am keen to work with people of the electorate to solve any problems”

He’s committed to putting his local community first. I may be biased but I don’t get a sense of who he is, for instance, how does he put his local community first? and while he mentions various community organisations e.g. Lions, Neighbourhood Watch, what role has he played in these organisations? What are his achievements?

QLD Police Service Medal with 15 year clasp for Ethical and Diligent Service and Australian Service Medal (15 years)

I haven’t been able to find a Greens or other party candidate yet but will update when I do.

